Thanks To You AAGSAR’s #BLOGFEST2014 Was EPIC!:)

Dora KOONCE & son, James HARDY(EN) KOONCEI’d searched ALL DAY for the word to sum up my feelings regarding our first New Year’s #BLOGFEST – We Call Your Name event. Then after the tweets died down and we were all descending from our Ancestors clouds, Bernita (still a NEW KID herself) of Voices Inside My Head nailed it, “BLOGFEST was epic!”.

It was indeed. I’ve never in all my years of researching genealogy, felt more connected to a body of work, than I do today. I never planned on it, have frequently complained about it, and sometimes [almost] get up the nerve to question the Ancestors why they have me doing it. But I know this work is Divine, and I’m so thankful to be a part of bringing not just my, but MANY Ancestors out of the dark. They are SHINING. BREATHING. REJOICING!

I’m hard on you NEW KIDS because I need you to embrace fully the responsibility [and joy] that rests on your shoulders. And should the day come I take hiatus, I want you equipped with EVERYTHING you need to push your Ancestors, and our collective Community FORWARD.

NEW KIDS your work will bloom and spread. Many will follow your lead. If you call them, Ancestors and newly connected Cousins will come (in my best James Earl Jones, Field of Dreams voice). You’ve shifted the landscape and narrative of our genealogy research FOREVER.

I thank you AAGSAR for tolerating, listening to and supporting me. You’ve been the vehicle my Mama sent to keep my heart beating.

Thanks to Kristin of Finding Eliza for penning the BEAUTIFUL Ancestor Homage, We Call Your Name and sister, Pearl CLEAGE for the poem contribution from We Speak Your Names”.

Thanks to the genealogy community for continuing to champion our Ancestor work!:)

If you have ANY doubt about the significance of this time and work, spend a moment reading the We Call Your Name comments and visiting all the remarkable Ancestor Blogs introduced.

A New Year. A Fresh Start. I’m clear now.

No complaining about the weight of the work or worrying about who understands [or supports] the effort. Just enjoying the gift of being able to help descendants and Ancestors find their way, while they help me to find mine.

“Never underestimate the power of a small group of committed people to change the world. In fact, it is the only thing that ever has.” ~ Margaret Mead

Yeah, 2014 is going to be EPIC!:)

Luckie

P.S. Please make sure to visit Ms. Dora and her son James KOONCE via Stones, Rainbows and Doves. Our girl Joanie worked EXTRA hard to afford her Ancestors their rightful time to shine! Well done Joanie!:)

2 thoughts on “Thanks To You AAGSAR’s #BLOGFEST2014 Was EPIC!:)

  1. I am so impressed by the energy of this group of Ancestor Bloggers. It amazes me how the connection is very strong amongst each other and how everyone is getting to know each other on a deeper level. We are allowing the Ancestors to guide us through this journey, and we are being supportive of the development of others besides ourselves.

    • Vette you’ve basically summed up what makes our Community work — building relationships. GENUINELY supporting each other. Honoring Ancestors. We’re basically creating an Old School model to create New School work. Appreciate you being with us on the journey! :)

Leave a Reply

